“Their appearance is like an interruption or even an intrusion into your life.”

tumblr_luxczfdocB1qzxyqfo1_400This thing was not a interruption in my life. It was a brick wall that I could not climb over, slink under, go around or even bust through. Little did I realize that the only thing that would save me and I mean literally and metaphorically was to embrace it.   Thomas Moore defines it as a “an unnamed urge that pushes you in a certain direction.”

So I was and am still faced with this dilemma.  I want to be back in the high life as Steve Winwood would say.  But I know that I was given this depression to learn how snowyto do the Ggods work and help those who are suffering in ways I can only imagine.   My dear friends Willem3655 and the Fanatic suffer in ways I can only imagine.  I can hear them when they tell me their struggle but I cannot understand it based on experiences that are the same.  I dont think I have suffered like they have.

But these relationships are the ones that are the ones that mean something to me.  It is not that the other relationships in my way-aheadlife have less meaning.  But I was talking about it in a “meeting,” last night.  I truly believe that I was led to live in the area where the “Valley Fire,” went through to help those who have lost their houses to rebuild them. Just as I was led into depression to help those who suffer, mostly in silence, from a life sucking energy that cannot be overcome by will power alone.  Because if it could have been, just ask my friends if I would have overcome it or not.  Just like I could not stop drinking or drugging on my own, I cannot overcome depression on my own.

Jackson Browne says in “For A Dancer,” ” And somewhere between the time you arrive and the time you go may lie a reason you were alive but you’ll never know.”  That is how life normally feels  for me.   Except for as Moore says, this force is “the force behind your tenacity of your yearning.” What I yearn for is to help heal from the emotional malaise we seem to have but consistently seem to ignore as a culture.  400px-FlammarionIf 30% of the people who helped write the big book’s stories committed suicide, there is a problem.*

And damn it, my friends who are the dearest thing to me, save one person, are suffering in ways that are incomprehensible to the “normal” person, but are suffering still the same.

This thing is called our  Daimon.  Hillman talks about it as does Moore and I am sure others.  It is the thing that has led me down this path which I hillmandont have a clue of where I am going. But it is here and it is real.  The reason I trust that it is real is the statement by Moore where he say that it is “[t]he guidance offered by an inner wisdom, More an impulse then a thought.”

You see I was a content attorney getting rich in Marin and here I am about to move into an area where a fire devastated people’s lives and when I am up there, I know it is the place I am supposed to be.

123 RV, SA, HF, PH, PA, JO, Dwight, TL, TS, and Happy Birthday Cynthia!!!

All quotes from Thomas Moore’s book “A Life at Work.” * If you want to know how I see this condition read, D.H. Lawrence’s “The Healing.” It was the first post on this blog and remains the way I see the dis-ease we live with in this culture.

1393852_909291559087829_6429478004072054840_nfinger-touching-nose-of-baby

sluk-dancer

4 thoughts on ““Their appearance is like an interruption or even an intrusion into your life.”

  1. Sometimes we are so used to suffering it seems we choose to suffer. I know people that when things are going well they manufacture crises so they can return to suffering which is the “normal milieu” for them. They may not even be conscious of the dynamic. We can also travel the “pursuit of happiness road”. But it does not just appear. We have to build it and be stubborn about it like they did in Philadelphia in 1776. I have been in crushing depression last four months but still do things. I found an art gallery downtown that will display and sell my art prints last week. I just walked in the door with a few samples and the owner was delighted. At 66 I refused to be immobilized and perhaps a new beginning ahead although probably relatively insignificant it is significant for me – a dream realized after decades. There is hope but you gotta reach for it or die.

  2. “I want to be back in the high life as Steve Winwood would say.”

    Funny you say this. When I first started experiencing depression I purchased Steve Winwood’s album with that song — with an aim to lift my spirits. And it helped! (Maybe I wasn’t so deep into it, or the cause was not so dire that it couldn’t help. But I did a lot more than listen to him, too.)

Leave a Reply

