My Last Real Day with Dad

Just for Today

I Dont Want To Talk About It

dad and grandpaIt was three weeks before he died.

By this time my Dad was pretty much immobile.  He could get up to go to the bathroom and probably to go to bed but other than that he would sit in his recliner.

What I learned later is that he was only getting 8% of the oxygen into his bloodstream that he needed at the time of his death. I don’t think he had fallen and cracked his ribs yet, but he was still pretty immobile even on that day, when everyone was still hoping that he was going to get better.

lake tahoe in the snowThe hardest part about all of that was that I intuitively knew that my father was going to die even before I went there that day. When I first saw him in the hospital, after his surgery, three or four weeks before that day at his house in Calistoga, I…

View original post 1,281 more words

Leave a Reply

