Fanatic Masked

blue-mask-matt-marquez The divine mask has it’s special place on the wall come sunset, yet come sunrise it molds back onto my face. The outside world is a fool or rather am I? It is the protection from others that I seek and at the same time protection from myself. Safety from pain. Safety from memories. An escape from a reality that burdens and hurts me.

jung-red-bookOver the course of my life very few people have known the real me. Not even my parents. I was what they needed me to be. The perfect daughter that does no harm. A military family will instill that in you. I’m not sure if the military also instilled a lack of emotion or love within our four walls. Perhaps my parents’ personalities were as such prior. Obviously I will never know the answer. I do know neither had the greatest of upbringing. I can’t fault them for that.

women-eyesMoving around from place to place every few years was taxing for me. I was a very shy and insecure kid. I don’t think much encouragement came my way unless I was successful. There were no hugs or kisses encouraging me for next time. Sometimes I met anger at what my parents perceived as failure. I became a chameleon to fit in. Because inherently I didn’t feel like I fit in. I am still plagued by this feeling in my 40’s. Sad.

flickerI hide my true feelings. I feel like I am protecting you from me. I do not want to burden you or bring you down. I don’t have much to offer anyone. Truthfully I wish I could disappear, as if I never existed so I don’t hurt others. When the pain gets to be too much even the mask feels too heavy.  Yet I hang it up each night taking comfort it will be there in the morning.

123 RV, SA, JW, RW, JZ, PH, PA!

finger-touching-nose-of-baby

2 thoughts on “Fanatic Masked

  1. Most people don’t reveal their full or true selves completely. I wish we felt safe to unmask and let down our guards… Hope you enjoy some trick or treaters and Happy Halloween! Children are my source of joy, always!! Hugs, Robin

Leave a Reply

