“You must go in quest of yourself,…”

landscape“…and you will find yourself again only in the simple and forgotten things.”There in lies some tension for me. If there are forgotten things how can I find them?When I first read this what came up for me immediately was how are we going to teach children to find those things that are missing? Most of them have probably grown up without knowing about those things connect us to the earth. I am also wondering if it is even going to be possible to help them do that, learn about those simple and forgotten things,  in a world of ashphalt, concrete and billboards.  We now see the reality of nature more on the screen you are reading this on than by observing it.  Observing it not just  with our eyes but with all of our senses, for ourselves.

img_03831But then I read things like a post by a wonderful blogging friend, dizzylizzie34,[1] and I realize that those things most likely will not be material things. They may be represented by an image, a material thing, but I think what I’m trying to say here is that there are “places” inside of me that an image can trigger.  What triggers that moment for you?  For me it can be an old baseball, a smell, being in a place!

hard-heart “Sometimes a tree tells you more than can be read in books.” I went hiking on the mountain yesterday with my dear friend. She hikes up and down that hill like a mountain goat!! I had to stop a couple of times going uphill because I couldn’t keep up with her. You know what that does to a man’s ego? What I learned from that experience was I don’t have to be first anymore, I don’t have to be the fastest up or down the hill, don’t have to be the strongest, I don’t have to be or do anything beyond my limitations.

20130615-195657But more than anything, I got to be outdoors and hang out with one of my dearest friends.  We got to talk about those things that we usually only get to text about!  And yes, a tree told me more than a book did that day.

Quotes by Jung.

123 JW! RV! SA! RW!

[1] http://dizzylizzie34.wordpress.com/2014/07/23/appreciating-my-life/

howling-wolf-img_assist_custom-600x594

 

2 thoughts on ““You must go in quest of yourself,…”

  1. It was so nice to hear that you were able to get out and hike with an old and dear friend. It is sometimes hard to overcome challenges, I find my hands wearing out faster than my legs. So, for me, keeping up on a walk isn’t a problem, but writing and painting are not as easy. The warehouse job, for only 6 years, has worn out my hands a bit. I feel your ‘pain!’ Smiles, Robin

Leave a Reply

