“Every individual needs revolution, inner division, overthrow of the existing order,…”

whirlpool-2   “… and renewal, but not by forcing these things upon his neighbors under the hypocritical cloak of Christian love…” [1]Jung said this a century ago and many would argue that it is not much different today.  I am not saying that personally. I dont find the dogma of the Christians any more abusive than the dogma of many other religions or things like “spiritual movements.”  Because the minute I hear someone say “You should….”  or something to that effect I stop listening.  What is the reason I do that?  Not because what they are saying isn’t important….to them.  It is because the longer I am here, the more I realize how little I truly know.  Not just how little I know about what I should do, but more than anything how little I  know what anyone else “should” do.

silhouette-fisherman-ajaytao“Do you see the complete harmony between central dictatorship, fascism, political callousness, and the self-centeredness of the spiritual point of view?”[2]  This is how Hillman said it.  The association between churches and dictatorships have been chronicled throughout history. I am not making this point to attack any particular church or theology.  What I am attempting to do is show that the continual attempt at some hierarchy, usually patriarchies in this time period, to exert control over the population leads to either revolutions or a separation that lead people to have to not be who and what they truly are.  Look at gays in the United States. Look at people who have “mental health,” issues.  So what is a possible way we can mitigate this dis-ease we are suffering from since many people believe that neither their church or their government are really truly working on their behalf.  Jung said we need;

through-the-window“Individual self-reflection, return of the individual to the ground of human nature, to his own deepest being with its individual and social destiny here is the beginning of a cure for that blindness which reigns at the present hour.”[2]And does it ever reign.  My wonderful friend was helping me move today and he said something that stunned me and not many things stun me anymore.   He said that even though we only have 5% of the population in the United States, we have 80% of the prescriptions for drugs in the world. We are blind to what is happening to us.  I know an elderly woman who probably has 50 different prescriptions in her medicine cabinet.

sequel

That my friends is insanity.

[1] Carl Jung  [2] James Hillman

20131101-062926.jpg

2 thoughts on ““Every individual needs revolution, inner division, overthrow of the existing order,…”

Leave a Reply

