“The world, because of its breakdown, is entering a new moment of consciousness…”

Sunset“…by drawing attention to itself by means of its symptoms, it is becoming aware of itself as a psychic reality.”

I have been struggling to find a reason to keep continuing the educational path I am on. (1)
My struggle is that I dont want to leave a profession, the law, where as an attorney you primarily work on your own to try and defend someone against the government, and trade it in for being a psychologist where it seems you primarily work, on your own, to try and help those who you are entrusted with helping.
mysteryI was reading one of my favorite bloggers this morning, Beyond Meds, and learned about a wonderful man, Daniel Mackler.(2) I invite you to look at his site and check out the The Foundation for Excellence in Mental Health Care (3) which funded Mr. Mackler’s films about alternative methods to the medical model we use in the United States to deal with psychosis and schizophrenia so that they could be viewed for free.
That is where  Mr. Mackler’s information comes in.  He created a  film about how the people in Finland treat psychosis and schizophrenia.  They treat the people who come in by a group methodology.  The  psychiatrist, psychologist, psychiatric nurse, social worker and the rest of the support system get together and, with the patient and the patient’s family, work out a treatment plan for the patient.
20130516-175234Another of Mr. Mackler’s films talks about treating people with psychotic breaks and other disturbances by putting the person in the community with people who open their homes to the people in need.  They do it so that they can treat the people who are suffering by integrating them back into an every day life  as quickly as possible.  I cant give Mr. Mackler’s films the credit  they are due here as it would take pages and pages to try and inform you of how the people in those Scandinavian countries deal with “mental illness.”

Needless to say I got a little hope this morning by watching about 4 hours of youtube videos!

123 RV, SA, JW, RW, PA!

finger touching nose of baby

The opening quote is from James Hillman.
(1) There were some differences in what I enrolled in versus what  the University advertised. I was told in the literature that I relied on to enroll that I could choose a depth psychology concentration.   But when I made a decision to attend there, it was only then that they informed me that I was not going to be able to choose the depth psychology concentration.
(2) I put quite a  link to a few of his videos on the “Resource” page of our blog.  (3) http://wildtruth.net  where you find a statement which describes what “The Foundation for Excellence in Mental Health Cares” is trying to do.  We are dedicated to improving mental health outcomes through programs that rely less on pharmaceuticals and more on engaging families and communities.

6 thoughts on ““The world, because of its breakdown, is entering a new moment of consciousness…”

    • Debra,
      The economic model we live in will not address the problems at the level that the Finnish and Lapland people did. I see a break down more and more of our people in ways that are so damaging to us all.
      Always love to see your words.
      I think Mr. Hillman would like their system. I wonder if he wrote about it. Do you know?
      Jim

      • Yes, I agree. The economic model and the science model that says “it’s all in the brain.” Our culture is a mess, dying perhaps.

        I am not aware of Hillman writing or speaking about the Finnish healthcare though.

  1. I continue to work to get the school to re-visit the issue. But what is wonderful about the internet, is that I continue to educate myself in depth psychology through blogs and other resources. Thanks as always for your thoughts.
    I also need to say that the school is giving me things that I find enriching and challenging at the same time. The people there are trying to do the same thing we all are; heal the world.

  2. About 4 years back, before these films were produced, I was able to email Daniiel Mackler and he responded to me (and I was thrilled!). He was a very warm person and I’m so glad he was able to get his projects funded. I really ought to dig up that email exchange, because I remember being so tickled to get a chance to ‘talk’ to him.

    I’m so glad you got the chance to see the videos. I’ve seen the Healing Homes one, and I’ll see the others as well.

    I’m not really going into psychology, though sometimes I think I want to. I have read up a lot about it (along the humanistic/existentialist psychologists and I have Dabrowski’s published and nonpublished writings – from when I corresponded to Bill Tillier, a former forensic pyschologist in Canada and Dabrowski’s intellectual heir), and I have a deep interest in holistic healing. I think, for me, my chronic ‘depression’ isn’t really depression at all. It’s loneliness. If I was going to go into psychology, I’d go into counseling gifted adults. For sure.

    I can talk to just about anyone, for any length of time, but I can’t figure out how to actually befriend them beyond that interaction. I have made lots of acquaintances, but I get very shy when it comes to asking them out for a cup of coffee. I’m dying to invite someone out for a walk with me (I mean, aside from my husband, I ask him when he’s not working).

    I actually love people, so much, but at the same time, that got me into some trouble before. And now, my loneliness is just right under the surface, and what I have been through causes 1) insecurity and 2) anxiety.

    How much longer do you have to finish your degree?
    .

Leave a Reply

