“To mythic consciousness, the persons of the imagination are real.”

  dancing-with-summer-rain-drops-kip-decker   I was in my hometown the other day.  I went and sat in the yard of the school I went to in when I was in first grade.  I sat at a picnic table in the playground and tried to remember what it was like when I was there and it  was hard because it was decades ago that I lived there.  I tried to remember what it was  like to be in that yard because my first grade teacher was the first person who told me that they cared about me and I believed them.  I know you might think that my parents expressed that they cared about me and they did.  But they also gave me many lessons that were not necessarily loving and kind, so there was always an ambivalence when I interacted with my parents.  So the point is that I imagined my teacher and I have to say,  I couldnt.

cropped-heart3“History is one way of making a gestalt: historical references, figures from the past release the foreground event from being stuck in only what it says it is.” I was talking with a dear friend of mine today.  She was talking about how when she was young, and the stress from her abuse/neglect/abandon issues were in full swing, she would go to this stream outside  her house because “the river never stopped, and I could go with it.”  I was watching  my friend struggling with a memory today and I watched them go to that place in their mind.  I think this is an example of how “figures from the past release the background event from being stuck in only what it says it is.”  So them experiencing a memory was mitigated by the memory of the river they used to go to to get emotional relief when they were growing up.

20131101-063008.jpg“If our civilization suffers from hubris, from ego inflation and superbia, psychology has done its part.  It has been looking at soul in the ego’s mirror, never seeing psyche, always seeing man. And this man has been monotheistic Reformational man, enemy of images.”   The only images we can see are those sanctified by the powers that be, whether they are political, religious but more any other time in history, economical.

I am leaning towards going to into working with and writing to help children  learn that their imaginations are things that they can hold onto as they grow older.  I am sad that the time I got to use my imagination when I was growing up got less and less as I got older, until I stopped using it on my own.   It is one of the things that we can use to get relief from the pathology that we are carrying.  It  is a tall order, but I want to change the world and it will be best accomplished through children.

123 RV., SA

All quotes by James Hillman.

20131101-062926.jpgstubborn-look1

Both Bruno the bird and Baron the wolf both sort of have that “you dont really want to mess with me look.”

One thought on ““To mythic consciousness, the persons of the imagination are real.”

  1. “figures from the past release the background event from being stuck in only what it says it is.”

    Very insightful!

    The world, and especially the children, will very much blessed to receive your care. That is a wonderful gift to offer to a very wounded world.

Leave a Reply

