“The horizon of the psyche these days is shrunk to the personal.’

eye-fo-the-macaw-james-robinsonHere we all are, trying to get some sort of healing for the wounds, sadness, fear, anxiety that we seem to have. Trying to express that “stuff” inside of us that keeps us from being content.  There aren’t enough therapists to go around.*  People don’t have enough money to pay for the therapy. So what are we left with?

dscf2806“The new psychology of humanism fosters the little self-important man at the great sea’s edge, turning to himself to ask how he feels today, filling in his questionnaire, counting his personal inventory.”  People needing to self medicate to get relief from the psychic pain, sadness, fear, anxiety it’s in their lives and makes it so their lives are almost unbearable. So those of us who are fortunate to get help will do this work  and we get better. But then we look around and see that  many  of the other people are still struggling. They’re still fearful, full of anxiety, afraid to look other people in the eye. I’m glad that I’m getting better. I’m glad that I’m studying what I’m studying. What goes does getting better do me if I am still in a sea of people who are suffering?

bridge-to-nowhere-mark-felicianoI go to meetings and I listen to my friends struggling with anxiety, their fear, their depression. I’m grateful that we’re sitting in those rooms getting this momentary release that we get from them. I’m glad that I’m bonding in someway with the people who I need In my life. But then I go to Peets, which is my source for sociological information for my analogical, yet empirical studies of human behavior!!

4-12‘He has abandoned intellect and interpreted his imagination in order to become with his “gut experiences” and “emotional problems”; his soul has become equated with these.” I am a great believer of engaging with people to see what the temperature of the psyche is out there, how people are collectively. Yes it is the holiday season, yes people wear their festive clothes. But that sense of people staying isolated is still prevalent. We are not looking at other people. Not having to engage  with others  is still going on. I love it when some lady or some man looks at me and acknowledges my interest in them with my smile or just the look of “hello,”   not necessarily even having to say anything to each other.
4958132204_41ce4b3c2e-smallGetting better just for the sake of getting better is a nice goal, but does not seem like it is totally fulfilling.  I would feel like I did not answer my calling. Trust me, I would like to be better, than I was say even 4 hours ago.  I was telling a dear friend today that I was so depressed this morning that I did not want to even go and make my daily fix of Peets!  That is depressed for me!

I am better now, thanks.  🙂

Addendum.  I went to a caroling show last night.  There must have been about 200-300 people attending.  I looked at the crowd at one point as the singing was going on, and almost to a person, their faces looked sad, drawn out.  People were not in joy and I clearly noticed that.

123 RV, SA!.  Forgiveness comes from emotional maturity, the need for permission comes from the lack of it.

*(What a presumption on my part, that therapy is the answer for all!)

This is the James Hillman quote I  took bits and pieces for this post from. “The horizon of the psyche these days is shrunk to the personal, and the new psychology of humanism fosters the little self-important man at the great sea’s edge, turning to himself to ask how he feels today, filling in his questionnaire, counting his personal inventory. He has abandoned intellect and interpreted his imagination in order to become with his “gut experiences” and “emotional problems”; his soul has become equated with these.”

finger touching nose of baby100_1607

3 thoughts on ““The horizon of the psyche these days is shrunk to the personal.’

  1. Good observations and your questioning of our healing in relation to a world of suffering is very present for me. The insight from my own experience of healing says that each one does need to do the work of healing for themselves. They must suffer, but the right kind of suffering that burns through and away the old mode of being that has us caught in the spinning of the limited notions and ideas we have of ourselves and the world. We must, somewho be broken open to let in new meaning and understanding, yes?

    I like to think that those of us who have, even in to varying degrees, walked the path in which we have faithfully suffered in the way that changes us, can pass on to others, as Hillman and many, many others have done, our insights, vulnerability and honesty, as I see you do here.

  2. Don’t dismiss the significance of your getting better. It is huge and I am very happy for you. It is great you feel your friends and others’ suffering so deeply but I think I have learned through my own depression is you can’t help/take care of others if you are unwell.

  3. What depth. I think that each person that pulls himself or herself out of their black holes becomes a beacon for all whom their lives and energies touch. I celebrate your beaconness.

Leave a Reply

