“Do not judge me by my successes,…”

terracotta-le-castellet-france-carlo-dl“…judge me by how many times I fell down and got back up again.”[1] This is the antithesis of my culture.  We model the behavior that if you fall that something is “wrong,” with you.

Okay I am going to go on a rant here!  I  know some of the finest human beings in the world.  I have friends who will give you anything.  They will feed you, house you and clothe you if you need it.  I am sure you have those friends also, or you probably wouldnt be reading this blog.

cute-kitten-praysYet when they suffer, when they fall, they are marginalized and left to fend for minimal services from our institutions.  Our institutions will not support the people who make it so  those institutions exist.

This is what Hillman talks about when he says we need to make vessels to help us express our dis-ease that we suffer from culturally. If our institutions are not going to be receptive to the expression of our deep seated emotional wounds, then we might need to look about replacing them.

swans-floating-lazily-worchester-imgurMany in the Tea Party tried to shut down the government.  The immediate knee jerk response was that we cant do it.  But I posit the question that if the system is not supporting those who support it, then change the system.

Thomas Jefferson said that “Every generation needs a new revolution.”  What is it going to take to get the institutions to be the vessels for us to express our disease?  Is it going to take a revolution?

fields-search1While I may not identify myself with the Tea Party, I am a true libertarian.  The strongest reason for people to resist what is going on is that the neglect of those who suffer, like those Vets I had dinner with on Thanksgiving, is a slow manifestation of the tyranny that is happening in this country.  The only reason I write about that here is that the fellow sufferers of “mental illness,” are those same people who I talked about above. The ones who will help anyone, even people they dont know.   It is not a stretch to say that their suffering is hurting this country.  No, no, no, I am not talking about them getting well enough to get back to work.  I am talking about them getting well enough to have the energy to start giving to more people, which they want to do

fast-food-risquilloWe are not supporting those who can help change the myth of this country and make it so we start giving a shit for our fellow man.

123 RV.  Forgiveness comes from a place of caring for our self and permission comes from needing to tell me that I am okay..

[1] Nelson Mandela.

Jefferson said something I invite you to think about.  “The strongest reason for people to retain and bear arms is, as a last resort, to protect themselves against tyranny in government.” The conditions he discussed in this quote are still present. Before  you go off and call me a “conservative,” I am a supporter of both the NRA and the ACLU.

stubborn-look1dsc_1645

Leave a Reply

