“I want more composure so I can face reality.”*

326684“To place neurosis and psychopathology solely in personal reality is a delusional repression of what is actually, realistically, being experienced.”[1] What is the reason that I can’t understand this? What is the reason that I keep looking at other people thinking that they are “normal” and I’m the only one who isn’t?
fim-look-pencil-sketchI spend a lot of time with the leprechaun and because of his training in the medical field, I have this underlying fear that I’m not as aware of what goes on in the world either personally or globally as he is. Then I listen to him talk recently, and what I hear is him manifesting the same thing that many of my friends and people who I know do. Yet when it comes to being alone, I still think that he’s emotionally mature and I am not.
eyes-elizabeth-anna-digital-art-ajaytao
“Expectations that are only statistical are no longer human”[2] I noticed in my conversations with him today that this is one of the places where I truly part ways with him as far as the paradigm of looking at emotional health. I believe that he still is accepting of the dominant paradigm’s statistical analysis of the efficacy of antidepressants. He is also a believer in many of the forms of Western medicine that statistically are not much better than the placebo effect.
downloadOne of the struggles I have when I take this position is that I am being mean or indifferent to people when I say that antidepressants don’t work. Statistically they are ineffective.
One of the topics that was discussed last night at the Depression insobriety meeting was the side  effects of antidepressants. It was a wonderfully frank discussion as for most of the meeting there were only men in the room. The side effects Of many of the antidepressants is not just loss of libido, but loss of memory, nausea, and exhaustion. I know this is just anecdotal evidence of a number of men in an Alcoholics Anonymous meeting, but it’s interesting that we don’t have the discussion about the effects of medication on us on a community level.
dscf2806There are number of blogs that I read, notably, Beyond Meds, that highlight the effects of pharmacology on humans, but I don’t see a lot of  blogs focused on aftereffects of antidepressants and anti-anxiety pills. If there are any idea really appreciate it if someone would let me know that because one of the ways that I think that we’re not not really helping people is getting them to rely on the hope that these pills give us, but not letting us know that they’re not as effective as we think they are.
123 R.V.  Forgiveness comes from the heart and intuition, whereas permission comes from the mind.  *The Leprechaun said this to me this morning[1] James Hillman.  The whole quote is “My practice tells me I can no longer distinguish clearly between neurosis of self and neurosis of world, psychopathology of self and psychopathology of world. Moreover, it tells me that to place neurosis and psychopathology solely in personal reality is a delusional repression of what is actually, realistically, being experienced.  [2] James Hillman
baby-owl-learning-to-fly-peter-brannonfinger touching nose of baby
4 thoughts on ““I want more composure so I can face reality.”*

  1. Jim, couldn’t agree about anti-depressants. Typing from my phone so forgive mistakes. You should read “bluebird”. You’re eyes will be opened even more about anti- depressants. I’m our of town and don’t have book with and can’t remember author’s name. It is excellent. God bless.

  2. That last quote of Hillman’s is brilliant. In the whole system that the society is people with mental problems are just those who show us acutely that so much around us is so wrong.
    About antidepressants, my gut feeling rejects them as well. But I do not have a clear-cut opinion.

  3. Jim: This is pretty heavy for my just having returned from vacation last night! But I definitely wanted to catch back up with you. In the first paragraph – what about our human-ness? Some things, simply, are not for our understanding, I think. Expectations can get out of hand. Who wrote that rule book? And why do we keep the same rules throughout our lifetime, even though our selves and our situations change minute-to-minute, let alone through the years? I think you are being too hard on yourself here. Looking forward to catching up…

Leave a Reply

