Individuation: What is the cost of it?

gods-light

“Heresy is the life of a mythology and orthodoxy is the death.” First I want to apologize for not posting for the last few days. I had the flu and I haven’t been able to put two cogent thoughts together For a few days

When I was watching the James Hillman video the other day, Hillman talked about the attempt to wipe out any theology except for the dominant one in our culture. I think this is what Campbell is talking about here when he talks about taking away all of the Mythology of anything that isn’t in line with the theology of the dominant culture

Campbell talks about the same thing that historians talk about when they say to the victors goes history. One of the things I learned in college from one of my professors was that virtually all history is subjective. When I was a kid and I was reading those  history books I believed that everything they told me was empirically correct. What I’ve learned throughout the years is that history is nothing more than journalism chronicled into a book and then taken to be believed as truth. Much like much of the iconic mythology the dominates the western culture.

“The aim of individuation requires that one should find and then learn to live out of one’s own center, in control of one’s for and against. And this cannot be achieved by enacting and responding to any general masquerade of fixed roles.”

How many of us can really say that we have lived our lives outside of the rules and norms created by “society.   Or put under the pressures Of either  those around us or of the unconscious expectations of society.

I can tell you that I lived under a masquerade of who I was and what I was supposed to do for the first 50+ years of my life.

It is still difficult at times to continue to follow through with the effort it takes to live a life of my own choice rather than a choice of my culture, my family, my peers.

As to being sick, I couldn’t believe how much I was in my depression when I was stuck in bed with the flu like I was. I tried almost every one of my estate mechanisms to get out of my feelings. I was talking at the depression insobriety meeting tonight, And I realized that whenever I am sick I am not given permission to be that way. No wonder I struggle with the fact of depression being an illness, one it doesn’t look like I have any symptoms of any sort of disease or sickness.

All quotes by Joseph Campbell

123 RV. Forgiveness is necessary for self, permission is necessary for others

3 thoughts on “Individuation: What is the cost of it?

  1. You understand, “One-day-at-a-time,” “Let Go, Let God,” “Nonjudgement, Nonattachment, Neutrality.” The Indian culture uses the word “upaya,” sound it out “U-pay-a.” That is “Saturn” in astrological terms in each of our charts. Saturn demands self-discipline, it is the ultimate “sober, sobering” planet. Any kind of overindulgence (Jupiter and venus with jupiter) gives us shame (Saturn). Illness assists us to change something. Something sweet and healthy on a daily basis can be “upaya,” for joy, happiness, a sense of accomplishment because it is a natural way to change our focus chemically and alchemically. But excessive sweet puts us in depression, guilt, shame. What we would really like to do but shouldn’t and will no longer do is what often really makes us so depressed. Too much sweet makes us heavily, fat, lethargic. Add exercise of various types (fire), and right breathing in exercise reverses our vision of ourselves, on a daily basis, it can even create greater self-fulfillment because one has reversed oneself out of a depressive state, and released us from our anal selves. But, living your own truth in your own terms, within every moment, every breath, in the midst of others status quo socialization, is truly the greatest joy, but too, a solitary life in the midst of being surrounded with differences. Just flowing along, singing your own song, writing your own way, that is truly a wonderful accomplishment!!!!!!!

  2. My thoughts on language are that it will always tempt us to believe in it, and to expect it solidify and capture the motion of life when what seems truer to me is that all language approximates reality and the trick for us is to accept language on its own terms of being an approximater. History is told by the literate, poets as well as others. Our job might be to read history as story rather than fact and forgive language for fooling us.
    The story teller, Michael Meade, was fond of saying “there is no way not to be who you are and where you are right now.”
    Peace and hugs to you in your struggles. I so enjoy your ability to be vulnerable and your willingness to share with us.
    Debra

Leave a Reply

