“The most important decision we make is ….

  eleanor-mio..whether we believe we live in a friendly or hostile universe.”
Well,  well,  this is a tough one for me. As long as I continue to see the world through my “films about ghosts,”  then I am going to continue to see the world as a hostile place. The greatest example of the manifestation of that struggle to change how I view the world was evidenced by my dad’s passing earlier this year. I remember when he died my three steps sisters put a sweatshirt on him that said world’s greatest father. There was a huge struggle inside of me for about 30 minutes after they put that sweatshirt on him for me to continue to allow it to be on him. My immediate response was to take it off with him and say you don’t understand to my step-sisters.  I sat with my back to everyone else and went through that struggle.
wonderful“If you want your children to be intelligent, read them fairy tales. If you want then to be more intelligent, read them more fairy tales.”
The most vivid memory I have is a child as far as reading is concerned is my first grade teacher Miss Toews.   We had a reading “contest,” I guess is the word for it.  I read like five times as many books as the next kid. And all I can remember was her open, awesome  and beautiful support for me to read every book that I read. We used to get that thick poster grade paper and we cut it in little rectangles.  We then would use that potato paste and stick it on a chart on the wall next to our names.  Mine  just was so full. I continued that with my daughter also. I was totally supportive of her reading every book that she could get her hands on and still am. The imagination is the fruit of the future’s growth.
dispair“It is a miracle that curiosity survives formal education.” It is a miracle I remember when I was going to law school I absolutely hated it. I could not fathom why professors would sit up there and belittle their students to the point of some students crying all the while the professors thinking that they’re teaching people how to think like a lawyer. It was dehumanizing and below what I thought the study of the  law was supposed to be all about. I’m so grateful that I found the criminal defense clinic at law school because I probably wouldn’t have completed law school had I not found that
change-your-focal-point-raluca-mateescu“I lived in solitude in the country and noticed how the monotony of a quiet life stimulates the creative mind.” When my professor in my environmental business class at Santa Rosa Junior College talked about the “externalities” of our economic system I knew immediately that he was saying something that I would hold onto the rest of my life.
What I am starting to see more and more is the consequence of the industrialization of our culture. We don’t have creative minds looking for solutions outside the paradigm of the world as it exists today. It is only through risk-taking and failure that will we ever get to change how the world is particularly in the mental health area. Yet we dont support it as a culture.  Yes there are those who do, but the dominant paradigm is that the solution is usually available in a pill.  There is no more scarier thought in the world to me than that.  PLEASE UNDERSTAND I AM NOT SAYING THAT PEOPLE SHOULD TAKE THEIR MEDS.
marta-blue-prelude-melMy dear friend struggles with that as much as I used to.  I feel so sad that she does.  She thinks that if others dont take meds then she shouldnt.  Well I wont drink St…..ks coffee, but she will.  Well now that I think about it, I believe all of her mental health problems are exacerbated by the ingestion of St….cks coffee!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!(Just joking everyone!)
123 R.V.  Forgiveness comes from love, permission from fear.
All quotes are from Albert Einstein.
One thought on ““The most important decision we make is ….

  1. The experience you describe in law school — I experienced it to some extent in med school. Not much and not from many professors, but a few that really enjoyed reducing students to tears. No excuse for that kind of behavior. Love all of the quotes — the first one has been my favorite for quite some time.

Leave a Reply

