“Small is the number of people who see….”

326684     ….with their eyes and think with their minds”

As l look at the quote above, the first thought  that comes to mind is a line from Mrs. Potter’s Lullaby by the Counting Crows.

“If dreams are like movies, then memories are films about ghosts.”

When I say that I see with my mind what I am saying is that when I am scared or uncertain or in any way knocked off my “center,” then I will look at you through my historical experiences and that usually ends up with a really bad ending  for either you or me, usually both of us.

endless-thoughtsI truly believe that memories are just films about ghosts. Yet when we talk about these archetypes in these images that we believe are held in our unconscious, and which are held collectively, I cannot help but see even those archetypes through the filter of my history when I’m not aware or conscious.

I also like that next line in Mrs. Potter’s Lullaby, where it says “You can never escape you can only move south down the coast.”  I think that’s what Hillman is talking about in his idea that our soul has to interact with the outside world instead of staying in the depths of our “recovery.” I think that it is only when I can truly interact with the world can I let go of trying to make the movie run and end up in a different way than the damn movie ended up then.

dewy-meadow-chickenwire“The intellect has little to do on the road to discovery. There comes a leap in consciousness, call it Intuition or what you will, the solution comes to you and you don’t know how or why.” What is this leap in consciousness? I like where Einstein says that we have made the intuitive self a slave to the rational self. When we rely on the rational self only we don’t rely on that energy that comes through us to decide how to proceed in the world in a way that’s loving and kind. I rely on my thought process and  seem to not remember  that my thought process is based on my memories, which are films about ghosts.

enlightenment-dominic-kamp “Technological progress is like an axe in the hands of a pathological criminal.” What is the price to pay for technological Progress? I agree with Einstein it almost becomes the end in and of itself.   Yet when we see what technological progress has created in our satisfaction level,  our emotional health level and in our mental health level in our culture I argue that we are not serving the higher good by only relying on technology as the solution to our problem.  To live in only the rational is to live what many are now postulating is a life which lacks those benefits of life that we value emotionally and “spiritually.”

“It is the theory which decides what can be observed” This is where I believe that Hillman is correct and the shift of psychological thought will move towards. Leaving the diagnosis to be prescribed by the parameters of the Jungian/Freudian analytical paradigm limits us as to what the possibilities of the individual are.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI am still wandering the wilderness in one sense as to whether I can trust that the solution is coming to me by the way that my life is manifesting. I’ve gone against every rule that I know about living a life. I sit here so often just almost dazed in the not knowing anything about life.  What does the paradigm of the psychological world say?  That there truly is something wrong with me for getting off the hamster wheel?  Hell yes it does.

I wish I had a wonderfully rational response to justify my change and course in life.  I don’t.  I can only say that I feel that I can help change the world by following the path I am on.  Is that an ego based statement?  Well , yes it is!

esontown-fryslc3a3c2a2n-near-lauwerszee-martiniqueThere Is nothing wrong with wanting to change the world we live in.  We are paying a price for continuing down the path we are on.  I would have ended up dead, in an institution or better yet, emotionally dead but still staying alive had I continued down the path I was on.

All quotes are by Albert Einstein except “Mrs. Potter’s Lullaby,” which is by the Counting Crows. 

123 R.V.  Forgiveness is an inside job, Permission comes from yesterday.

stubborn-look1 baby-owl-learning-to-fly-peter-brannon

5 thoughts on ““Small is the number of people who see….”

  1. I love the quotes from Einstein, and Mrs. Potter’s Lullaby sounds interesting–I’ll have to find out more. I like what you say about our memories and films–I think of it that way too sometimes, and like film they can be edited or cut or rewritten. Quite an interesting journey reading through you post. So glad you shared.

  2. “The intellect has little to do on the road to discovery. There comes a leap in consciousness, call it Intuition or what you will, the solution comes to you and you don’t know how or why.”

    I love this quote

Leave a Reply

