“We need myths that will identify the individual not with…”

beautiful-eyes” his local group but with the planet.” [1] I was reading an interesting book today, which I will discuss tomorrow and was visiting with some of my wonder full and interesting friends today.  The Painter, the Leprechaun and the Fanatic, all in one day!

We have nothing to identify with that cuts across all of our realities.  We  only see our myth as valid and since it is the only one that is, we make all others invalid.  We call it religion.  We choose to see the world in terms of us and them, black and white, good and bad, democrat and republican, Ggod and not Ggod.   Duality is deadly and we dont even see it or know it.

“Around here everybody acts like nothing’s changed” [5] We have more mental dis-ease than ever.  We have more people barely staying alive than ever. We have more younger people dying from suicide than ever.[6]

screen-shot-2013-07-08-at-11-52-32-am   Our life is psychological, and the purpose of life is to make psyche of it, to find connections between life and soul. [2] What does each of know about the soul?  What does the culture we live in know about the soul.  I would love nothing more than to just meander my merry way down the path of the last 1/2 of my life and find comfort and joy in the world.  But there is a pink elephant in the middle of the room.  It has been called externalities of the system we live in and “benefit” from.

frog-under-umbrella-penkdix-palme“There’s no coming to consciousness without pain.” [3] Are we going to be able to, or can we develop the willingness to want to pay the price of coming to consciousness as a culture.  Or are we going to continue to stick our head in the sand and stay unconscious.  There is a reason that we refuse to pay the price of change necessary to quit dying.  Not just societally, but communally as well as individually.

eyes-elizabeth-anna-digital-art-ajaytao“Technological progress is like an axe in the hands of a pathological criminal.”[4] I saw a video on Ted Talks today.*  It exemplifies what Einstein is talking about in this quote.  We arent startled or even troubled by it.  Why not?  Is it because we are still believing the propaganda that we all have a fair shot at the “American dream?”

This is supposedly the first generation where the younger ones will not have it better than their parents ever in our country.  Why not?  What has changed?
control
I know I am leaving more questions than answers in this post.  I really would love to hear from the people who read this blog.  I am not standing here being the chicken who is screaming the “sky is falling, the sky is falling.”
I trust my Ggod to help us heal, to help us start to see that we are all in this together and that none of us get out of it alive!!

[1] Joseph Campbell[2] James Hillman[3] Carl Jung[4] Albert Einstein[5]  Bruce Springsteen Nothing Man

[6] http://littleblogoflettinggo.com/2013/09/04/how-we-die-age-15-to-49/

http://www.ted.com/talks/chrystia_freeland_the_rise_of_the_new_global_super_rich.html?utm_source=newsletter_daily&utm_campaign=daily&utm_medium=email&utm_content=button__2013-09-05

123 R.V.  Forgiveness is from the divine, permission is from the mind.

stubborn-look1 baby-owl-learning-to-fly-peter-brannon

13 thoughts on ““We need myths that will identify the individual not with…”

  1. oh man, you’ve bummed me out this morning! My kids won’t have it better than ME? Dang, I better get busy. That cannot happen. Not that I’m living in squallor or anything, but I sure hope they will be better off. And yes, I’m still firmly entrenched in the notion that we all have a shot at the American dream. But, hey, I’ve always been a dreamer. 😉
    On a side note. I always refer to God as “it” and it bugs the hell out of most people. But, I’m fairly sure God is way beyond gender and what other word is left to me in the English language? 😉 I think I get why you spell it Ggod.

    • Carrie,
      I always love to see your face on the blog world. I dont think we are in the blog world. I think we are on it. It is the new world.
      My daughter already has it better than I did as a kid so I feel successful in that venue. I do however struggle that I didnt make it better for her psychologically.
      But that is another post.
      I cited your blog, I hope you know. Alarming statistics!
      Thanks as always.
      Just another Ggod loving bundle of energy out here saying it is good to “see” you.
      Jim

      • Jim, I feel the same way about you! “Real life” has some what over run me at the moment and have not been in the “blog world” as much as I like. I actually had to partially hospitalize my daughter. She goes 7 days a week, 12 hours a day. I’m driving 120 miles per day, 4 hours every day! I could no longer handle her eating disorder. Felt helpless watching her waste away. 😥

      • Carrie,
        I am sad for your daughter
        I will pray for her and for you my friend.
        Eating disorders to me are more vicious than drinking.
        I heard a speaker at an OA convention once say that “They have to let the tiger(food) out three times a day.”
        Take care my friend.
        Jim

  2. Like you, Jim, my daughter is doing better than me. Much of it is because I lost so much in my life as a result of many things, including being an alcoholic and having bipolar. Beyond that she is driven for success, and in a healthy way. She is pursuing her life with a dream and optimism. As for Ggod, I use “he” and “she” interchangeably. As a Buddhist, I question God’s existence anyway, but, as Carrie said, if there is a God, I seriously doubt he she has a gender.

  3. “The purpose of life is to make psyche of it, to find connections between life and soul.”

    Love that. Also love Joseph Campbell and mythology.

    Re: The next generation will be the first not to fulfill the American dream.

    I always like to approach problems as opportunities for learning and growth. I see several things that may even seem at cross purposes here. So, maybe we’ll need to be less materialistic.

    At the same time, the rich are getting richer and leaving everyone else behind thru a redistribution of wealth from the middle class and poor to the wealthy. Many middle-class folks are losing their jobs through offshoring, outsourcing, union-busting, a refusal to increase the minimum wage, newer technologies, abusive lending practices, etc.


    Too many of the rich do this for selfish purposes. However, over time no one will be able to buy their stuff and they will lose profits. Maybe that will help everyone to see the interconnections between us, and help us to see that to help ourselves we also need to help each other.

    Discovering empathy and generosity would be even better.

  4. My friend the Leprechaun(a 89 year old retired psychiatrist) taught me that if we can look at all others with loving kindness we will be better off. I knew I had made a connection when I saw your blog. Thanks for checking us out. We are just a bunch of drunks walking through sobriety.
    That makes me remember that alcoholics dont have it any different than others, We were just chosen to walk through the fire and come out of it alive. Everyone walks through it if they are lucky.
    I am reading “Weve had a hundred years of psycho-therapy and the world’s getting worse,” by Michael Ventura and James Hillman.
    Love it. ♦

Leave a Reply

