The amalgam of “Anxiety-Depressive Disorder.”

passin-the-time-joel-bedfordThe Fanatic and I were talking the other day at my favorite hangout, Peets.  We decided that anxiety and depression go together, that they are not separate disorders, at least for us.

Let me say up front that I believe this information I am about to write about supports the theory that I espouse that says long term treatment for our “dis-orders,” or as we say in AA, our “dis-ease,”  is not going to come from the psychological/pharmacological  model of treatment we are using today.

I loved reading my wonderful fellow blogger Lucywilliamspoetry’s blog this morning, and seeing the search for validation for a Wikipedia definition of the “Anxiety-Depressive” disorder.*

IMG_3261copy_zpsf2277a32There are just a couple of sentences in the proposed definition that I want to talk about.

“The current treatment that has been most effective is cognitive behavioral therapy.  [Dubious, Citation needed]”  I quoted that whole line, because it says what I believe to be true.   I dont think you can use talk therapy to process all of  the emotions that underlie the “Very deep, sometimes quite forgotten, damaging emotional conflicts [that] persist below the level of consciousness,”[1] that are truly the root causes of our dis-ease.  Dubious is a perfect word.

I have done and will continue to do “therapy” as needed.  However, I have learned that healing takes place not so much from just words any more.

baba-gopaldasji-103-yrs-age-amarkantak-ajaytao3This disorder is caused by a combination of biological, psychological, and environmental factors. These factors include imbalances to neurotransmitters in the brain, traumas, stresses, and an unstable home environment. These two sentences best exemplify of how we look at the problem from the incorrect perspective of what needs to be done to help people with this dis-ease.   For me it shows the need for a different therapuetic model.  Here is why.

The definition starts out by the causes. There is only one term in that first sentence that I think is argumentatively purely scientific, and  it is “biological.”  I  believe more and more that the imbalance they say we have in our brain is from psychological and environmental factors; that is that they are caused as much by cultural factors as biological ones.

The next sentence describes the factors to contribute to it.  Tramuas, stresses and unstable home environments are all cultural and not medical factors. Yes, I know that there are many facets to each of those words, but they are all related to emotional residual effects if not emotional causes. I am not saying that many of the traumas and stresses are not created by physical acts.

reflex-view-finder-raluca-mateescuThe long term effects of these traumas and stresses are emotional in their basis and cant be dealt with only cognitively.

Anxiety and depression are just different manifestations of similar underlying causes.  These causes are not systemic to our body as an organism, but as externalities of our cultural processes.

I am not saying that there aren’t separate “dis-orders.”  I am saying that the underlying causes may be the same and the cognitive theory of “therapy,” is not effective any longer, thats all.

******

One Two Three RV    Forgiveness is a given, permission is not.

finger touching nose of baby

*http://lucywilliamspoetry.wordpress.com/2013/08/13/mixed-anxiety-depressive-disorder/
[1] AA Twelve Steps and 12 Traditions, pages 79-80.
2 thoughts on “The amalgam of “Anxiety-Depressive Disorder.”

Leave a Reply

