Aside

The living ghosts from the past and fear mongers of future

albert-einstein-quantum-theory“A man’s ethical behavior should be based effectually on sympathy, education, and social ties and needs; no religious basis is necessary.” We have lost all of the bases for our ethical behavior. This is what is causing us to have this dis-ease that we as a culture have, because we have made our ethical behavior be predicated on the individual’s goals only.  All of the “mental health,” issues are really emotional disturbances that are manifesting in our inability to trust in our own ethical systems.  We don’t feel anything for our fellow man who sits there on the street corner begging us for money to buy food or alcohol or drugs.  I have this quandary inside when I sit in my car right next to that man with the sign, because he sits there in a pathetic existence and I drive off to get my burrito and he wonders when he is going to eat next.

baba-gopaldasji-103-yrs-age-amarkantak-ajaytao3Religion is not the basis that we need to look at our ethical behavior, if anything it is better left to the innate senses of the individual.  Why, if there is only one Ggod, are there so many darn religions?  Religion, like many traditions handed down from generation to generation, are the dead’s rules for the living. 

There is a mythological connection between all peoples in the world, but to say that there is only one religious icon, or worse yet the “right” way  to live the “spiritual” life is a fear based myopia.  If there is one who has ALL power, then aren’t the icons we follow all saying the same thing, whether it be a Buddha, a Jesus, Confuscious, etc, etc.  I accept that they were  here, but like Joseph Campbell said, “all religions are true but none are literal.”

marta-blue-prelude-mel“Man would indeed be in a poor way if he had to be restrained by fear of punishment and hope of reward after death.” In my culture, in the U.S.A., there is an underlying pull and it has been here since I can remember, that the Christian way of looking at the world, that there is an afterlife, where life will be “good,” and we will live with Ggod is axiomatic. 

What, is Ggod on strike against the recovering alkies in California in the here and now?  I gotta wait to be one with Ggod?   So what do I do while I am hear waiting to finally connect with “the man,” when I get to heaven?  Where is heaven, no I mean where is it on the map, cuz I might not want to go there if it has humidity in the summer.

JJ closeup green hatWhere the heck did that narrow minded view of the world get started and who are the people who followed such cult like messages.  You could interchange Jim Jones for Jesus in my book.  Same mindset as far as what the “spiritual” life means and is.

“My religiosity consists in a humble admiration of the infinitely superior spirit that reveals itself in the little that we, with our weak and transitory understanding, can comprehend of reality”  This is so simple, yet some want to muck it up with their “what they believe is not weak and transitory understanding of reality.”  They want to tell you, whether it is on Sunday morning News shows, or Sunday morning Gospel shows, that they have “the” answer to our problems. Yeah right!!   Dick Cheney or Jimmy Swaggart are the direct voices to this one Ggod clearer than all of us so much that they tell us that they know Ggod better than everyone else.  They know it so well that they stand there, and say they have a divine connection to Ggod that you don’t have!!  Whoa, they must be able to walk on water!!  What a fracking joke!

pooh-piglet15“Whoever undertakes to set himself up as judge in the field of truth and knowledge is shipwrecked by the laughter of the Gods.” I know, you think shoe1000 has to be a direct channel to Ggod to write something so profound don’t you?

Shhhh, can you keep a secret?  I am a channel and guess what, come closer I want to whisper in your ear something really deep, I mean deep.   Yeah you are right, I am a channel and guess what………. So are you!

“Only a life lived for others is a life worth while.”

*************

wolf yosemite

All quotes from Albert Einstein, except the title quote which came from my dear friend Pam.

 Ggod forgives us all the time, those who seek permission from may not.

123

3 thoughts on “The living ghosts from the past and fear mongers of future

  1. I don’t normally proselytize but you should check out the Unitarian Universalists. Every word you wrote sounds like a typical service on Sunday morning.

  2. Thank you for posting this….have so much to say about what it has stirred in me… Like someone snapping their fingers in my face… but I much rather discuss it with you then post it in a comment… would love to get your perspective on some things… Hugs to you my friend 😉

Leave a Reply

