Aside

“It’s a terrible cruelty of predatory capitalism.”

american-buffalo-yellowstone-national-parkI am not writing this post from some position of anger towards the system I live in.  I am beyond that.   Life, like me,  is all the things we say it is. Beautiful, brutal, barren, bliss, bold, broken.  I have been looking for a way to express what is inside of me for a while.  I don’t know if this is it, but this is the best way I can find to articulate what is going on inside of me.   I have a lot of energy that used to get spent in having arguments with myself about the past or the future. Wheeeee!!!

tunnel“The culture is going into a psychological depression” In my last post, I cited a New York Times article that said depression is booming!  Yes my friends we are getting more screwed up! Oh my Ggod we are in trouble.  Why?  Because, according to the dominant paradigm,  we  have to accept this thought process articulated in the culture that if you aren’t normal, something is wrong with you. No, sorry nothing can be wrong with the culture you live in.  IT HAS TO BE YOU!

ecstacy-xavier “Psychotherapy theory turns it all on you: you are the one who is wrong.” What the hell kind of statement is that?  That I am responsible for all of my woes!!  Screw you Jack! That train left long ago.   I am no victim today, but don’t hand me that bologna that says my Dad beating the snot out of me a couple of hundred times had anything to do with me.  Society makes me responsible for all of the emotions that are inside of me, and I didn’t even get to choose ‘em?  Some of the most interesting people I know suffered abuse as a kid.  Rage is a tool that can drive me forward  in my life.  What I dont get is people think I like having these feelings inside of me.  I DONT.  I agree I am responsible for my actions,  but if you want  to posit the theory that I created that  whole reality, go see your shrink!*

locked-door “If a kid is having trouble or is discouraged, the problem is not just inside the kid; it’s also in the system, the society.” I think about Einstein here.  If he was living today, his Mom would have to take him to therapy so he could learn to conform.  Because of his attributes that are seen as weird, his nuances that he had, he would think that something was wrong with him.  I am so glad that he didn’t.  He lived from his intuitive self as much as he could, considering where he was and what attributes he had.

giants-causeway-n-ireland“Symptoms are so often seen as weaknesses…so they set up some sort of medical or psycho-therapeutic program to get rid of them”  I know a beautiful little girl, who when she was young, would wear three, sometimes four hats at a time, stripes with polka dots, different shoes and socks on each foot and go out in public.  She asked me one day why people were looking at her the way they were. (You know that look like “oh no, another wack job  kid, with wack job parents.”)   I told her that they really enjoyed all of her clothes so much that they couldn’t get enough of looking at them.  Her attire pushed my damn buttons about what “normal” was.   Thank Ggod her parents didn’t stop her from being that way.  She is such a bright little girl and she just was thinking about all of the ways she could express herself.  PERIOD

IMG00610 “The acorn theory says that there is an individual image that belongs to your soul.”  This idea is allowing me more freedom to truly let my voice out.  I have always struggled to be normal.

Sorry, if normal is “Dancing with Stars,”  the “Voice” or “Truckma,”**   I don’t want any.  I wear white pants in December and ties with flowers or Winnie the Pooh on them to Court where everyone else wears dark blue suits and white shirts and 50 year old looking  ties.  BORING.

I hope we can start seeing the issues that we deal with in this culture as systemic and not as individualistic.

standing baby100_1607

All quotes come from James Hillman’s interview with Scott London in Sun Magazine  July 2012 * This is a PG blog so I couldn’t say what I really wanted to say.** I did a post entitled “Truckma” earlier.

123   I dont need forgiveness from society.  I need it from Ggod and me.

3 thoughts on ““It’s a terrible cruelty of predatory capitalism.”

    • Thank you Bitter Tuna. Your picture reminds me of my little friend who wore 4 hats. I will keep writing because when I see someone like you getting it, I know I am doing what I am supposed to do.
      Disturb the comforted and comfort the disturbed!!!
      Thanks again!
      Jim

Leave a Reply

