Ggod is a metaphor(No, No, No,… Hes OUR Father!)

Inside OrionWARNING!!!

If you’re offended by any questioning and challenging of your view of religion then do not read any further.  This is a questioning of all religious dogma with the focus being on Christianity as I live in the U.S.A in 2013.

*************

4-12Ggod is a metaphor for that which transcends all levels of intellectual thought. It’s as simple as that.”  I dont say “The Lord’s Prayer,” at the end of AA meetings. AA is supposed to be “Ggod as you understand him,” but that in itself says that our whole “spiritual”program is based on Christian dogma. One of the things I am proud of myself for doing as a child was rejecting church at five years old. The benefit of doing that was I don’t have a lot of preconceived ideas of what Ggod is. I do have to say that the drawback of that is that I didn’t have any ideas of what a spiritual life was before I got into AA the age of 30.

joker

So my rebellious nature, which I thank Ggod for, causes me to have disdain for any unspoken rule of how life is supposed to be lived. So when my friends at my home group say “The Lord’s Prayer,” at the end of the Saturday 7 Mens’ Group’s AA meeting, my protestation is in my silence.  I have thought of bringing it up at a business meeting, but I have already seen the results of doing this at other meetings.  Wow do people get their panties in a bunch!!  I realize that most people want to be sheep, as it’s less discombobulating to be that way.  But I think it’s that sheep mentality which is the under pinning of much of what is wrong in our culture today.

carinablobs_hubble_960“Every religion is true one way or another. It is true when understood metaphorically. But when it gets stuck in its own metaphors, interpreting them as facts, then you are in trouble.”  Here’s where the beginning of our troubles are. We have a bunch of people who wrote a bunch of books years after the events transpired, and told us as if they were there for every moment of every word, that everything they wrote was literally true. The same men who years after the events, wrote it all down, had a bias in that they wanted the people who they were preaching to, to follow their “belief,” system.

god (8)“In our tradition God is a male. This male and female differentiation is made, however, within…the field of duality. If God is beyond duality, you cannot say that God is a “He.” You cannot say God is a “She.” You cannot say God is an “It.”

We live in this world of deadly duality. We live in this world of “right,” and “wrong.”  Who defines those terms are the ones who define reality and normalcy.  I’m sorry but a bunch of old, celibate,(at least they say they are) predominantly white men, should not be able to be defining what is normal to anyone who’s not just like them.  They epitomize what I call, “the dead’s rules for the living.”

Like I asked my friend the other day, when was the last time you saw a female pope. The answer, in the silence that came with it, spoke volumes.

*************************

earth-full_940_600x450

“We need myths that will identify the individual not with his local group but with the planet.” The biggest separator in life today is those who follow one book versus those who follow another book, or even those who follow no book!  That’s because our myth has made our icon different than their icon and they have done the opposite.  How we pay respects to these icons and how we tell other people how to live their lives based on these icons is, as far as I’m concerned, the root of the problem in the world that will cause us all great grief.

“There’s nothing militant about Jesus. I don’t read anything like that in any of the gospels. Peter drew his sword and cut off the servant’s ear, and Jesus said, “Put back thy sword, Peter.” But Peter has had his sword out and at work ever since.”

16490732-portrait-of-a-beautiful-young-warrior-holding-sword-in-golden-lightNo one calls this fact into question where I live.   It’s not surprising since I live in the place dominated by that particular book.  What that says to me is that we’ve been operating against the words of Jesus ever since. What I see happening in the rest of the world is that the others, the ones we have  dismissed as not being like us, have picked up their own swords and are coming to cut off our ear.

“Tomorrow is the price for Yesterday.”*

pooh-piglet15“What is a Ggod? A Ggod is a personification of a motivating power of a value system that functions in human life and in the universe.” Nothing more than that. It’s not some imaginary father who lives in some faraway place where life is going to be perfect after you are dead here. There is no utopia anywhere else, but like every other dogma, the Christians have gotten their followers to buy into it they should delay their gratification about being alive until they go to a place that no one’s ever seen, no one’s ever returned from, which in reality doesn’t even exist.  Why?

angel2“The image of Ggod is your final obstruction to a religious experience.” We cant get beyond making the image the experience.

********************

“The ultimate, unqualified mystery is beyond Human experience”

********************

All quotes are from Joseph Campbell except noted. *Bob Seger No More
finger touching nose of baby100_1607
123.  Forgiveness doesnt come from Ggod or from confession, it comes from self.  So does permission.
11 thoughts on “Ggod is a metaphor(No, No, No,… Hes OUR Father!)

  1. Very, nice!!!!Studying spiritual traditions around the world gives one a greater understanding of the mysteries of life. You might consider listening to Gregg Braden on YouTube. He has transcended the term religion and has wonderful new concepts that might interest you with broader concepts of the spiritual.

    • Lavern,
      Your words always inspire me. I listened to Mr. Braden and he is fascinating. One thing kept coming up for me as I listened to him. Something that he was communicating non-verbally. I couldn’t understand it with my mind, so I searched for a metaphor. This is what I found.

      “And where we had thought to find an abomination, we shall find a Ggod; where we had thought to slay another, we shall slay ourselves; where we had thought to travel outward, we shall come to the center of our own existence; where we had thought to be alone, we shall be with all the world.”

      All of the writings, from Einstein, to Campbell, from Braden to shoe1000, all boil down to the same concept. We will only find our own existence, yet we shall be with all the world. Every human being is given the opportunity to go on what Campbell calls, the “Heros Journey.”

      Whether we choose to or not, is up to us.

  2. i know you may be surprised but your personal rebirth story plus your challenges show me that you need a little Sunshine Award nomination! Check out my recent post and there you are on my short list of 10 winners!

  3. My dearest sweet friend, I have nominated you for the Super Sweet Award! Congratulations, please visit this link: transcendingbordersblog.wordpress.com/2013//06/10/super-sweet-blogging-award-3/

  4. Hi Shoe! I appreciate your post on this topic. I am a bad sheep (ba-a-a-a-d) in that I no longer go to church. I could write a book on my adult experiences, but its those early experiences that were really good for me. That said, I understand where you’re comingfrom here. I am one to question and THINK about things, and that doesn’t sit well with the church folk. I think of God as father, yet I actually believe in the female nature of God. I also don’t interpret the bible literally but rather see it as a tribute to the human/God relationship, or at least our longing for it. I’ve gotten in a lot of trouble through the years for voicing my questions and determinations and finally walked away. I don’t know that God is real, but I prefer to hope so. My mother taught me as far back as I can recall, that one day we’d all be surprised who will be in Heaven. I liked her view, and she and my grandmother always said you can’t go wrong by living what you understand of the red letters in the bible. I don’t think all of it is on target but again, I hope so. Jesus’ words that stand out to me are those that are inclusive and daring and didn’t mind pissing people off.

  5. Your perspective is refreshing because I would guess you grew up in the “bible belt.'(The sweet tea is the foundation of that belief 🙂
    I love what grandma and your mom said. I believe in Ggod. I truly do, I just wonder if the idea hasnt been bastardized for paradigmatic gain. (whew what b.s.!)
    Always wonder full to see that smiling face.

  6. I am very happy to read your views on this. I find AA difficult sometimes because of the ‘God’ thing. I was really into reading the big book til I got to the ‘We Agnostics’ chapter. It says of your own understanding, but my view is that they are referring to the Christian God. I really like AA in that the meetings are useful, and on some days they have saved me from running back to the bottle, but I wish it was less ‘Churchy’. Your views on this are very interesting: ‘personification of a motivating power of a value system that functions in human life and in the universe’ seeing it as a value system is helpful to me. Thanks for writing this 🙂

    • Carly-Dee, I rail against it. Oppression is not okay with me. We argue that the Muslims oppress their people more than we do. SO WHAT! Cuz my Dad beat my brother on his ass, I should be grateful that he only slapped me in the face.
      Ggod we are like sheep arent we?
      Please keep writing what you do. I look forward to it every day.
      Jim

  7. Good for you. Think of any group of three including a dad and a kid… What do you expect the third to be? A mother. Strange how that normalcy has been glossed over.

Leave a Reply

