Aside

The Most Massive Characters are Seared with Scars[1]

img_2287It’s 5:00 in the afternoon on Tuesday, it’s about 80 degrees outside, the breeze is blowing on a sunny afternoon in Northern California. Man it don’t get no better than this kind of day in the wine country!  Yet there’s a consternation inside of me.
Some of the most wonderful people I know, people with tremendous depth to their character, who have empathy and  compassion suffer so brutally.When I sit here after going through the last period of my life which I equate to what  others may call hell, I realize that  those people who are compassionate and empathetic carry the pain and suffering  for us.

You see I have wonderful friends, who don’t suffer, who don’t  struggle with the “demons,” inside of them like many of my  friends do. What is the difference between them and I?

I think it’s best described in the lyrics to Bruce Springsteen’s, “Darkness on the Edge of Town.”
“Everybody’s got a secret, Sonny,
Something that they just can’t face,                                                                                                                                                                                                           Some folks spend their whole lives trying to keep it,
They carry it with them every step that they take.
Till some day they just cut it loose
Cut it loose or let it drag ’em down,
Where no one asks any questions,
or looks too long in your face,
In the darkness on the edge of town.”

M31vsMW_nasa_960What is it in those people, those people who are strong for those less fortunate, yet weak for themselves?  Those people who are loving yet feel unlovable? Those people will give you anything you need, yet won’t ask for the basic need of love?
What is it that they carry that keeps them in the darkness on the edge of town?

Bruce_Springsteen_01The rise and fall of civilizations in the long, broad course of history can be seen to have been largely a function of the integrity and cogency of their supporting canons of myth; for not authority but aspiration is the motivator, builder, and transformer of civilization.[2]
I am hopeful that we are in the midst of a paradigm shift.

Standing back and looking at the big picture of what all this dis-ease is about, I always return to the metaphor of myth. The commonality of this experience with the experiences of those ahead of me is the thing that I need to utilize to filter how I look at any problem.

So the problem of the pain of the world, whether carried by my friends, or carried by the people of Istanbul, Turkey recently, needs us to look at how we can utilize it so that it can help us motivate, build and transform the world.

blc3a5veisI am definitely left with more questions than I am answers. I thought about writing what I believe should be the solution but I learned long ago that my role in any sort of collective dynamic is to say that there is a pink elephant in the middle of the room.

Yes I have the ability to critically think but collective conscious is more powerful than any charismatic personality could ever hope to be.

I am more interested in a discussion than I am in a simple reply.
[1] Khalil Gibran [2] Joseph Campbell   Artwork at the top  by Jasmine at lostinherdream.wordpress.com

Oh, it is soo much better to ask forgiveness than it is permission.  Who would you ask permission from anyway?

finger touching nose of babywolf yosemite

7 thoughts on “The Most Massive Characters are Seared with Scars[1]

  1. I think there’s something to be said for the fact that globalization and the internet and 24 hour TV and other media coverage has turned the world into Marshall McLuhan’s Global Village, and we feel burdened by things that happen in other countries that, 100 years ago, we wouldn’t have even been aware of. It may not be a popular thing for me to say, but wouldn’t the world be a better place if we just focused first on caring about ourselves, our immediate families, our neighbours, our co-workers, etc… before we try to sympathize and feel the anguish of the entire globe? Sometimes I think it’s just all too much, and I long for a simpler age.

  2. Something to be said for that. I want so bad to give up texting, but I made a commitment to a friend to be there no matter what. So I, kicking and screaming, will do that. I dont think it is about globalization, I think it is about a spiritual malady. The dis-ease we all feel and look to make it better by satiating it with (fill in the blank).
    I dont watch TV, I saw that on a post by the bearpaw lady!!!! Yes think globally, act locally, but I guess I am interested in other’s ideas on what can we do to make it so we dont suffer so much. Ggod I am being led now back to Marx and Max Weber!!! Oh no, help me Mr. Wizard.
    There is nothing more powerful than an idea whose time has come.
    Aside, I agree with Jefferson, we need a good revolution every generation or so.
    Thank my friend, always good to hear it from the (looks like a binky in it though) mouth of a sage!

  3. Wow, this post is a feast for the mind. The part that stands out to me most is your observation of those who seem to carry the burden of suffering – it touches on an old bruise for me, one I’ve come to appreciate. Only the deeper levels of thought allow one to do this. Too many people grab on to a lighter touch, more accessible cognition and then move on. Makes me wonder if sufferers are so because they are actually more capable of grasping the full weight of matters

    • Listening to Brothers Under the Bridge, Bruce says, “Aint looking for nothing, just want to live.” We get this power to see what many overlook or choose not to see. Empathy I believe can only come from suffering. But there is that fine line of taking the wounds of others on. Tough one. Know someone who to me is unable to see their suffering and as such cant be empathetic. Know another person who has been sober a small amount of time and yet is as empathetic as anyone I know because they are aware of their own pain.
      But on a global level, how can we do something to make this place a better place. I challenge those of you who follow this regularly to contribute. I dont know, I just want to change the paradigm. Maybe I am just barking up a tree.
      Love to all

  4. You nailed it here, my friend…the scars that come with the pain….it is like the master’s busting, breaking, melting, and etching….to create a stained glass masterpiece that magnifies the beauty inside the soul He created in us. Where passersby see a broken scarred mess….travelers of the same road see the beauty…You my friend are a beautiful soul!! 😉

  5. Always love to read your posts, because they make me ponder… in a good way! So here I go, ponder away: There is something I have learned by trying to change the world working for organisations that supposedly do just that. People who join these organisations just because they want to “help” are usually not very good – you need to be able to distance yourself from the pain of others in order to support them. This also shows that must people who do work longterm in those organisations are very good in distaning themselves. Because (believe you me) it is sooooooooooo much easier to worry about the welfare of people who suffer in another country or in even on another continent than the welfare of people who are close to you…it gets very much up close and personal and so much harder to deal with. So there is also truth in the fact that a lot of people who work for organisations have not really learned to deal with their own issues. I have seen doctors, nurses, engineers etc who give everything to safe some kids life in a distant country but who are unable to deal with family issues back home. But: I also have to say – sometimes working for those organisations also helps to start looking at your own issues from a different angle. But dealing with your issues truly is a difficult and live-long task and takes a lot of courage. At least that is what I think. And there is one other thing: I believe that creativity is a very good way of dealing with issues (music, art, literature, poetry etc). Hope I haven’t been rambling too much 🙂

  6. Your comments are always a refreshing, educated response to things I usually dont know about. I think though after reading the above, we do take care of others many times to avoid our own inner struggles. When was the last time they had a female pope?

Leave a Reply

