Aside

The endless repetition of the mistake…..

volcano_650x366Which mankind at large has chosen to sanctify.[1]

What a wonderful image! That’s a picture of the volcano that is “increasingly active,” down on the border between the countries of Chile and Argentina today. When I looked at it I immediately saw what I was looking for. I kept coming back to the sentence in DH Lawrence’s The Healing which I reposted yesterday and which is the title of this post. I’ve only been at this blogging world for about six or seven weeks. I grew up in this little sheltered environment of the wine country and have lived here pretty much all my life. So I’m not a person who has traveled the world or shaken hands with important people in important places. I’m just a regular guy working on this mental and more importantly emotional condition I have.

The eyeI put the picture of the eye* up here because it is my responsibility to no longer sit by and allow mankind to sanctify the endless repetition of this mistake. What is the mistake I need to see and talk about?

The image of that volcano shows the disturbance up high, near “heaven,”  and down below the lights and the beautiful water of what I assume to be a lake show normal life, at least what appears to be normal life. That’s the mistake we’ve made.

Misery is a scar on the soul, that if it begins in childhood, it lasts the whole lifetime.[2] What I learn by reading here, the media (I don’t read much mass media) and whatever other sources I use form the basis for my opinion that we have what some may want to call a spiritual crisis. I dont think it is a spiritual crisis. We have a disconnect.  We are no longer connected to our intuitive mind.**

r-ANXIETY-large“I see a billion just like me, with a void in their hearts and running from eternity.”[4] Because I’m not a traveler of the world, I rely on my friends to tell me what they see out there. The quote that is the first sentence  in this paragraph says it all. We are running from something that we can’t run from. Either we face it or it will erupt.  I know from my own personal experience.

“It is unimaginably hard to do this, to stay conscious and alive, day in and day out.” [3] I didn’t know about David Foster Wallace before a few weeks ago. I’m sad that I didn’t get the opportunity to learn more about him and to see his growth and progression as a human being. No one can say that Mr. Wallace didn’t have a void in his heart. It is with great sadness that I say that.

aww-my-neices-daughter-ajaytaoI wish I could put a one sentence answer together that could help us. Some “thing” that can help us stop hiding out, help us express our selves to the world without fear of attack for being different, help us stop wanting to kill ourselves, help us help our children to realize that they are,  to help us to help ourselves.

It is better to seek forgiveness than it is permission. This  is usually my  axiom at the end of my posts.  But it makes more sense to put it in here today. I will let you define what it means for you.

D.H Lawrence The Healing [2] Bahaa Taher  [3] David Foster Wallace  [4] John Mellencamp  Void in My Heart * My Friend BillieZahair  uses this symbol for her blog.  **Eintsein said” The intuitive mind is a sacred gift and the rational mind is a faithful servant.  We have created a society that honors the servant and has forgotten the gift.”   I have my theories about the dis-ease we suffer from but this forum is limited, thank Ggod.

wolf yosemitefinger touching nose of baby

Leave a Reply

