“What is the psyche doing…”

long-roads-new-zealand… by presenting the patient with a depression?[iii]

Your sacred space is where you can find yourself again and again. [vii] Jung talked about the sacred space being the place where we can heal.  Rumi said that there was a place out beyond the ideas of right doing and wrong doing. I call it sacred space. Sacred space is where the focus of my work is as far as my “healing,” is taking place.

fall-in-cinese-vietnamese-border-wu-shaMythology pitches the mind beyond that rim to what can be known but not told.”[i] When I first took the comparative mythology class I took as a sophomore in college I was absolutely taken by it. You see I refused to and still refuse to adopt, “a,” particular view of a power greater than myself. I use the word Ggod on purpose,  which is nothing more than a tongue in cheek poking of fun at the Judeo-Christian higher power.

buddha-ray-phungI believe in a sacred space, and I believe in the power greater than myself. It is mythology that brings me to that place where things are known, but they cannot be told. “Mythology is composed by poets out of their insights and realizations.”[ii] Here is where some of my friends here  might be a little taken aback by my thoughts. When I was living in that world of duality, what Rumi calls right doing and wrong doing, I had little use for poetry. I’m still not a great fan of it for the most part. But I’m warming up to it.

mysterious-glowing-light-in-a-fnland-forest-mikko-lagerstedt“We forget that the soul has its own ancestors.” [iv] Here’s where I think sacred space comes from.  I think there is a passed down knowledge that doesn’t come with any words. It doesn’t come connected or associated with any book or dogma, despite the protestations of those who espouse that their particular form of mythology is to be taken literally. “All religions are true but none are literal.”[vii]

2009 Mt Shasta to Oak street 018“The most beautiful thing we can experience is the mysterious.”[v] Any time that we establish parameters of who gets to define what mysteriousness is, then it has lost mysteriousness.  That’s were I believe that sacred space “is.” It is a place without definition by those who seek to define terminology.

coast-redwood-giant-redwood-25801Ggod is the experience of looking at a tree and saying, ‘Ah! [ix] I believe in a power greater than myself and I will give you three reasons why. I have used these reasons for years and years.  The first is that I saw my daughter come into this world. The second reason I believe in a power greater than myself is that I’m clean and sober.  The third reason is, to me the  best empirical proof I have. I have seen redwood trees on the northern coast of California that are 20 feet in diameter.

boy

“Great spirits have always found violent opposition from mediocre minds.[vi]  This is where the paradigm shift needs to take place in our healing. We are manifesting this dis-ease, this malady, in things like depression and other mental health dis-eases, in suicide, and post-traumatic stress disorder, in autism in children, in the breakdown of the family, because as Einstein said,  that “the worst evil of capitalism the  is the crippling of individuals.”

albert-einstein-quantum-theoryI invite you to look into your self and ponder what it is we can do to try and heal, not just as individuals but as cultures.   I believe that the dis-ease is manifested emotionally, but I dont consider that to be the source of it.

My best healing has come from being in a place I call  “sacred space.”

[i] Joseph Campbell.[ii] Joseph Campbell[iii] James Hillman[iv] James Hillman[v] Albert Einstein.[vi] Albert Einstein[vii] Joseph Campbell[viii] Joseph Campbell [ix] Joseph Campbell  Photos used by permission by my wonderful friend at  http://ajaytao2010.wordpress.com

.Cropped close up100_1607 It is better to seek forgiveness than it is permission  123 Fanatic.

3 thoughts on ““What is the psyche doing…”

  1. Pingback: Mythology- J.Campbell | Alabaster Jar

  2. So great that you give the gifts bestowed upon you credit to God. Also, your sacred place sounds very interesting, that it is where you are healing. I think I have not heard of this before, although you mentioned some famous people who have attributed this as a person’s sacred place. I like to read your messages, deep and solemn.

    • Thank you for the kind words. As you can see I call it Ggod because I even reject the dominant paradigm’s shorthand version of “It.” I look forward to hopefully seeing that smile again!!

Leave a Reply

