The Old Psychology Doesnt work anymore!

fields-of-tea-china“Few people are capable of expressing with equanimity opinions which differ from the prejudices of their social environment. Most people are even incapable of forming such opinions.”[i] In this “phase,” of my recovery I have been thinking about and pondering with my friend the leprechaun what the  state of psychology is today. There is a view in psychology that psychotherapy, analysis, or other forms of “talk,”  therapy is the way that we should continue attempt to help people change their lives in ways that benefit them. The problem I have with that view is that the mind is a construct set up to protect the person’s traumas or perceived weaknesses from being exploited or treated in such a negative fashion as to harm that person’s psyche. I am not saying that it didn’t help me or doesn’t help many, many people.

albert-einstein-mechanics-1“Common sense is the collection of prejudices acquired by age eighteen.”[ii] I am so grateful for Jungian psychology as I wouldn’t be sitting here had it not been for my first therapist. I am so grateful that she was there to listen to me and help me talk out some of the confusion that I carried inside of me.

But it was not until I met Jericho, another therapist, did I start to change in a way that allowed me to be more comfortable in my “self.” What Jericho did was unconventional in the realm of therapy in that day. Not too many people practiced that form of therapy then, and don’t now. We used cognitive as well as “body” centered therapy to help us get relief from the angst, pain and confusion that brings us all to therapy.

1683351-Co-D-3-187-101st-Abn-Dean--24229“There is a paradigm shift going on in the culture. The old psychology doesn’t work anymore.”[iii]“One of the terrible fallacies of contemporary psychotherapy is that if people would just say how they felt, a lot of problems could be solved.” [v] Cognitive therapy is not keeping up with the rate of dis-ease that is happening in our culture.  We are not dealing with the “deep seated emotional conflicts that persist below the level of consciousness,” as a culture.  Look at PTSD in the veterans.  There are many vets from Vietnam who struggle to not kill themselves with drugs and alcohol.  I see it all the time in the rooms.  Look at the vets of the Gulf War, Afghanistan.

My friend, the Colonel, is involved in helping the Vets coming back from overseas and their PTSD.  They are trying to help them with cognitive therapy only.

I am ill because of wounds deep to the soul, to the deep emotional self
and the wounds to the soul take a long, long time, only time can help[*]

symbol“The intuitive mind is a sacred gift and the rational mind is a faithful servant.  We have created a society that honors the servant and has forgotten the gift.” [iv] I understand and have/had a very strong rational mind.  I was an attorney.  What I cut myself off from is the intuitive mind and that isolation into the world of the rational mind is what almost killed me.  We are trying to use the rational mind to solve emotional problems.  I question the chances of success and only have to look at our culture for support for that theory.

2650418_1There is another way.  There is a program called “Mindfulness Meditation,” that is being talked about more and more.  It is nice start but it is a band-aid for a gaping wound.  All the dominant paradigm wants is for us to get well enough to go back to work and feed the economy.  Numb us up to keep the machine, the “GDP,” going up and up.  At what price?  Our souls?

This crippling of individuals I consider the worst evil of capitalism.[vi] I have a theory and an idea to help this systemic problem.  Remember those “deep seated emotional CONFLICTS?” We need to resolve them,  inside each of us individually, and the rational mind cannot do it alone, if at all.    What do you think drives my neuroses? My brains ability to process information?  No.  My mind, the construct of history, that is still looking to protect the emotional wound/conflict of then with the problem solving tools of then. “We can’t solve problems by using the same kind of thinking we used when we created them.”[vii]

albert-einstein-quantum-theoryThe solution is not going to come from our thinking alone!

[*]  D.H. Lawrence  The Healing [**]“We shall require a substantially new manner of thinking if humanity is to survive.” Einstein said this in 1954, a year before he died. [i]  Albert Einstein  [ii] Albert Einstein  [iii]James Hillman [iv] Albert Einstein  [v] Elizabeth Wurtzel [vi] Albert Einstein. [vii] Albert Einstein ajaytao2010.wordpress.com is where the tea farm photo came from.

100_1607finger touching nose of baby

It is better to seek forgiveness than it is permission! 123 Fanatic.  Nice catch Chuck!

3 thoughts on “The Old Psychology Doesnt work anymore!

  1. I find there are numerous reasons why people suffer from depressions, but there was one thing that staggered me and changed my whole perception about psychoanalysis: After the Tsunami of 2004 some organisations (NGOs as well as multilateral organisations) in India tried to single out people who suffered from posttraumatic stress, because they had lost their homes, their loved-ones, their land etc. Funny enough, they couldn’t find people. Because the way the affected people dealt with it was by finding comfort in their families, talk if it was needed, weep if it was necessary and be quiet when demanded. I think in the so-called “western” societies we are lacking bonds and therefore the social network to overcome “depression”. Talking about it is essential – but since we are a mostly indvidiualistic society, we don’t have the network anymore – we delegate it to self-help groups, to therapists and sometimes to “gurus” (by which I mean any kind of spiriutal leadership). I somehow believe if we were still a collectivist society (like India for example) we would not face all those problems today. Maybe I’m wrong, but somehow this experience made me think. Anyway thank you for sharing your experience! :-)

    • Eva,
      I saw the word “bond,” in your reply. That is a big problem we face here. We try to “think” our way through the emotional problems we have and it is not successful because we are not connected to each other emotionally. I appreciate your thoughts and love your blog.
      Thanks
      shoeman

Leave a Reply

